Nov 12 2007

Has What.cd Already Been Busted?

  • Written by dubstylee
  • 5 Comments


One of our users forwarded us this confusing email “from the RIAA” this morning:

From: piracy@riaa.org
Date: November 12, 2007 5:43:09 AM EST
To: ****@gmail.com
Subject: Music Piracy
Reply-To: piracy@riaa.org

Dear registered user of the site What.cd,

We have recently been investigating the activities of the users of the site http://www.what.cd/ and we have found that this site exists for the sole purpose of music piracy.

Pirating music is a criminal offence and we believe it should be obvious to you that the results outweigh the benefits – hard working artists won’t be rewarded for their work and will stop producing music, ultimately leading to a severely reduced selection of music both in the shops and for download.

The RIAA had hoped that the disabling by the police of the large illegal music site, Oink.cd, would stop a lot of people from engaging in piracy,
as they don’t want to be seen as criminals. However, this appears to not be the case, as two large new sites have sprung up in its place.

This email is the final warning to all of you who were members of Oink.cd and are current members of What.cd. If we find you to be committing any more criminal acts of piracy then we will have to press charges against you, as representatives of the major record companies of America.

Yours Faithfully,

The RIAA

For real? A hoax? Nobody can be sure, but a chilling notice indeed. Their use of the word offence as opposed to offense leads us to believe they are either english or faking it.

Update: Apparently other users have gotten them too, and the site is claiming they are a hoax.

Related Posts

  1. 14yo Script Kiddie Sends What.CD Users Bogus RIAA Warning Letter
  2. Colombo-BT.org, Largest Italian BitTorrent Site, Busted
  3. Ian Clarke on the RIAA Virus
  4. OiNK Admin Charged With ‘Conspiracy to Defraud,’ Uploaders With Copyright Infringement
  5. TVLinks Was Busted for ‘Selling’ Trademarked Goods?
Zeropaid on Facebook

This website uses IntenseDebate comments, but they are not currently loaded because either your browser doesn't support JavaScript, or they didn't load fast enough.

Comments

  1. barrakuda

    Fake

  2. dubstylee

    ok if its a fake did the admins send it? If so bad joke. If not just as serious an issue because SOMEONE has their user DB.

  3. torrentforum

    IT IS FAKE and was sent from a 14 yr old script kiddie – get updates on story here — http://www.thetorrentforum.blogspot.com/

  4. dubstylee

    p0wn3d

  5. rfbgb

    i hope its fake

Trackbacks url:

Leave a Comment...

Giganews Newsgroups


1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars Loading ... Loading ...

  • soulxtc: Actually no. See this > http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/soulxtc/ip... (From http://www.zeropaid.com/news/10021...
  • soulxtc: Actually no. See this > http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/soulxtc/ip... (From http://www.zeropaid.com/news/10021...
  • PekkaK: The discussion about copyright has long ago transcended the question of whether anyone has the right to steal or copy or...
  • Debbie: hi could I please get an invite please. I was a member of Demonoid but is down.Thanks. ...
  • D.AN: "... the basic system [...] is Capitalist. Trying to change that [...] just means there will be a lot of corporation own...
  • D.AN: You seem to have the misinformation that file-sharers are part of one group. However, that is not true. "Even ideas, ...
  • D.AN: Ignorant you are, malgre....
  • D.AN: So you agree that you act based on accusation, malgre....
  • sdsd