usenet and old files

Discussion in 'Usenet' started by josephgoss, Mar 1, 2007.

Watchers:
This thread is being watched by 2 users.
  1. josephgoss

josephgoss Member

i have never used Usenet before, however i am building up an idea about how the system working and the things i need to acquire to use this service

if i do decided to use Usenet, I'll most likely use a premium service such as giganews or astraweb's

i am looking at downloading old tv shows like farscape and stargate season 1

because these servers have the data only for a few months, does that mean that its unlikely old content like the first stargate season will be available?. i don't want to waste my money if i know beforehand that i won't find older stuff on Usenet

i know that you can get recent media (like stargate series 10) but i am not that interested in that stuff at the moment

and by the way. the reason why i don't bit torrent is because my ip caps all bit torrent downloads to stupid speeds (try downloading 7GB @ 13KB/s!)

and just before i post this, one last thing; does anyone know of a non bit torrent site that would let me download high quality tv shows (like all stargate seasons) over a normal ftp or http connection. (i don't mind using premium sites either.i don't think there are nay though)

is anyone can answer me, thank you very much!

from Joe
  2. Dark Messenger

Dark Messenger Naruto Fan Established Member

I actually did a search for you on www.binsearch.info and came up with the following results looks like you can find everything you need there.

edit: here's a partial guide I made before losing interest:

ZeroPaid Guide To Using Newsgroups Version 2.0