Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Kazaa Start Page Message is Scary!!!!

  1. #1

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2

    Kazaa Start Page Message is Scary!!!!

    I just opened Kazaa Lite today. To my surprise the Start Page contained a message that says, "Your account has been suspended. Please contact the billing department NOW" . The progeam still functions, but I am a litle concerned that Sharman has infected my system.

    Anyone else experiencing this?????

    Also, I have been inundated by a swarm of Virus infections in sevaral of my recent downloads.... What gives?:black

  2. #2

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1

    Question What?

    I just opened kazaa lite and everything was just running normally.
    Maybe someones just trying to scare you into using the spyware infested kazaa.

  3. #3
    BloodySabbath's Avatar

    ø¤º°`°º¤ø,,ø¤º°`°º¤

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    :noitacoL
    Posts
    193
    Your start page message could be the beginning of KaZaA's war on unofficial clients (like Dr. Dooms KaZaA Lite)

    However, that shouldn't have anything to do with downloads containing virii. Its not technologically feasabile, but even if it were they would get in a lot of trouble for doing so.
    I intend to live forever. So far so good.

  4. #4
    BuzzB2K's Avatar

    On the FastTrack...

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    117

    Re: Kazaa Start Page Message is Scary!!!!

    Originally posted by cryonica
    Also, I have been inundated by a swarm of Virus infections in sevaral of my recent downloads.... What gives?:black
    Hi! Could you maybe give us a general idea of what the "virus infected" downloads were so we can avoid them?
    Not the actual filenames if you don't want but an idea of filetype?

  5. #5

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Mare Imbrium
    Posts
    18
    It appears that Kazaa has set loose the dogs of war against kazaalite. Which is really too bad, since I've decided that despite small HD space, I'll probably migrate to DC at this rate. Which is too bad, because FT was a very very nice network.

  6. #6

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    223
    Damn Sharman, always trying to beat out the little guy!
    Acclaimed Fanatic of Piracy
    Look For My Articles!!!

  7. #7

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Mare Imbrium
    Posts
    18
    Originally posted by Jeramey
    yeah you have to hate it when a company comes after someone ripping off their product....
    Actually, I DO feel a little bad about that. Well, I would if their product only had adware in it. Tho I despise pop-ups, I can certainly live with them if it provides a revenue stream for a company, especially if I really like their product. But, as we all know, Kazaa is as close to evil-ware as you can get to (I mean, BDE is pretty close to being a trojan, isn't it?). And cydoor would be acceptable, if not for the fact that they WERE spyware (supposedly those days are behind them ... but then why do they retain the capabilities to reactivate the spyware component). And of course, this being filetrading software, they should really be the last people on the world (literally, as FT is global ... and the company keeps hopping from one obscure country to another) to complain about people ripping off their product. Especially when it's a better product (new.net install anyone?). Doubly so since it's distributed freely (so we've cut out the commercials, I don't see anybody impounding Tivos).

    I guess my point is that there is no honor among theives.

  8. #8

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    5
    LMAO! The suspended thing has NOTHING to do with KaZaA Lite or any KaZaA client ... Your KaZaA / K-Lite starts with the unofficial KaZaA Lite homepage (http://k-lite.tk), that site was hosted with a free host (lunarpages.com) they took down the page .. thats all.. LOL

  9. #9

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Mare Imbrium
    Posts
    18
    Originally posted by Zipster
    LMAO! The suspended thing has NOTHING to do with KaZaA Lite or any KaZaA client ... Your KaZaA / K-Lite starts with the unofficial KaZaA Lite homepage (http://k-lite.tk), that site was hosted with a free host (lunarpages.com) they took down the page .. thats all.. LOL
    "LMAO"? Is that an acronym for something? Or did you mean LAMO (I hope it's the former, because to misspell the latter would simply present too much irony for one's first post.)

    As for the KL site on lunarpages, I assumed that the down was due to a nasty lawyer's note. This based on pooterman's report that he had recieved just such a message and had to take down his download section (actually, I think he took down his whole site).

    And how are we to interpret the line from cnet's recent article (http://news.com.com/2100-1023-891724.html), where they talk about kazaaLite
    "We mean to stamp it out," said Sharman CEO Nikki Hemming
    I will wait for a more detailed update from the webmaster of k-lite.tk (or refosearch.tk) as to the exact cause of the site suddenly going down. As for the original topic of this thread, can't help, I run KL 1.5.1 build 7, and blocked the kazaa sart page via hosts file trick. So all I get when I run KL is the page not found error.

  10. #10
    BloodySabbath's Avatar

    ø¤º°`°º¤ø,,ø¤º°`°º¤

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    :noitacoL
    Posts
    193
    I intend to live forever. So far so good.

  11. #11
    Roamerick's Avatar

    Out of his Mind

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    279
    I think we've all larned that the general sense of unease about various versions of Kazaa can cause widespread panic and unnecessary unrest.

    Sleep easy: Take 2 Gnutellas before going to bed.
    Roam

    Bad Comedown - We browse the web, so you don't have to.

  12. #12

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    7
    use a clean version of grokster. it's what i do and i cleaned it myself. it's easy. instructions were posted here for a long time (old board) and are still up at napsterites.net
    http://www.napsterites.net/undergrou...&threadid=9550

    - js.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •