Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Is this a virus or spyware

  1. #1

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation Is this a virus or spyware

    Good day to all!!

    I have downloaded a movie called Movie Reel, the uploader is called axxo and there has been some questions regarding the original axxo or someone ussing his name.

    When completed the download of the movie, which is an avi file, I tried to open it and receive a error message saying that it requires file advrcntr3.dll, this is a Nero warning but I have uninstalled Nero.

    With the movie Movie Reel came a notepad text message instructing me to download a file from the following website:

    http://www.xy7compiler.com

    I downloaded from here the following file:

    MediaTubeCodec_ver1.514.0

    I have run a anti virus with AVG on this file and it seems ok, but yet I am still a bit worried it may be something that can harm my pc, I am not very glued up on these things and ask you for assistance on this.

    Can I install this file safely or is it some type of a virus , trojan or spyware which AVG does not perhaps pick up???

    Please help me with this issue.

    Thanks & best regards,

    Mano

  2. #2
    Signa's Avatar

    COCK ROCKET!!!

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    3,135 miles east of America (not really)
    Posts
    3,757
    DO NOT INSTALL THAT

    That sounds like a ploy to get you to download a virus. If you can't play the video right away (assuming you have the correct codecs), then its a virus. There is ABSOLUTLY NO REASON for an uploader to require you to get new and unique software for you to enjoy his upload.
    Here's Britney Spears' private jet... The gulf stream 3 doesn't even have a remote control for its surround sound DVD system. Still think downloading music for free isn't a big deal?

  3. #3

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Thank you, will rather delete files and wait for a normal upload of the movies.

  4. #4
    Feather's Avatar

    Great Spirits's Lost Soul

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    United States of America and proud of it
    Posts
    2,870
    aXXo would never encode a movie where you had to do that. Delete that file
    { If you think a site is down then try... http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/ }
    { May the Great Spirit smile down upon you and yours. May He bless you in all you do.}
    {For sites of interest check profile under biography}
    Feather
    www.fairtax.org

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 15th, 2008, 04:19 AM
  2. Spyware \ Ad-aware Facts
    By shawners in forum Spyware & Adware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 20th, 2008, 04:01 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 17th, 2007, 11:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •