Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: Shareaza Site Transfer

  1. #1

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Flanders
    Posts
    6

    Shareaza Site Transfer

    Hey,

    I'm Neglacio and I represent Shareaza.
    I'm here to warn that we changed the site from http://www.shareaza.com to http://shareaza.sourceforge.net.
    The other site has been 'stolen' by a scam site, so please, be warned!

    Greetings,
    Neglacio

  2. #2
    Krell's Avatar

    worthless dirtball

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    9,759
    Prove it.

    Prove any of it.

    .

  3. #3

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Flanders
    Posts
    6
    Check both sites. Shareaza.com claims things that never can happened: Read this for example: http://www.shareaza.com/aboutUs.html
    Shareaza.sourceforge.net is a legal site, since as you can see, it's hosted on SourceForge which has got a reputation to never do such things.
    And if you want more prove, go into irc://irc.p2pchat.net/Shareaza , the official IRC channel.

  4. #4

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    Well, Neglacio simply is right.

    The domain shareaza.com is NOT the official shareaza site anymore/atm. It's been changed to http://shareaza.sourceforge.net/ (the home of the opensource project).

    www.Shareaza.com is a fraud and offers a download package containing spyware and adware ! It's a mirror for www.shareazaweb.com, the guys who prolly hacked the homepage.

    Shareaza IS and ALWAYS will be free and open source without spyware and adware!

    Also read: http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.p...orum_id=379658
    and http://www.zeropaid.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=46864
    and http://www.shareazasecurity.be/forum...ic.php?f=3&t=8

  5. #5
    Krell's Avatar

    worthless dirtball

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    9,759
    Quote Originally Posted by ceceboy View Post
    Well, Neglacio simply is right.

    Well yes, but dont show up with no credentials and flinsy information and some IRC chat.

    You say you are from Shareaza, what does that mean? You're a developer? Are you sleeping with the developer? We don't know you.

    Are you contesting this?

    http://www.networksolutions.com/whoi...n=shareaza.com

    Are you also referring to ShareazaPlus, Shareaza Pro, Shareaza2007 . .

    If you have a problem being hijacked, take it up with InterNIC, the hosting ISP or hire an attorney.




    .

  6. #6

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Flanders
    Posts
    6
    I'm a good friend of the admins ale5000 and Rolandas.
    Feel free to contact them.

    ShareazaPlus and ShareazaLite are the ONLY mods not violating GPL and will NOT bundle adware and spyware.
    The rest ask for money and/or infect your system.

    Shareaza.com is still owned by a person who left the team, but it still is reserved for the official Shareaza client. Only the IP referring too has been hijacked, not the domain.

    We can't sue them, hire an attorney, or something similar since Shareaza is free and made by volunteers. We do not have the money to start a case, nor do we want to.

  7. #7

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Krell View Post
    Well yes, but dont show up with no credentials and flinsy information and some IRC chat.

    You say you are from Shareaza, what does that mean? You're a developer? Are you sleeping with the developer? We don't know you.

    Are you contesting this?

    http://www.networksolutions.com/whoi...n=shareaza.com

    Are you also referring to ShareazaPlus, Shareaza Pro, Shareaza2007 . .

    If you have a problem being hijacked, take it up with InterNIC, the hosting ISP or hire an attorney.

    .
    Mate, if you don't believe us, go check the google cache and you'll see that the new page is a scam, and that the google cache still links to the SF page too.
    We're just here to pass on the message, that's all. :icon_thum

  8. #8

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Hi,

    I am the admin of the newly re-created official shareaza forums. (http://www.shareazasecurity.be/forum)

    I would like to inform you that the domain shareaza.com has been hijacked and is now referring to a scam site.

    Please update your bookmarks to the current official site http://shareaza.sourceforge.net/

    regards,

    Wout000

  9. #9
    Krell's Avatar

    worthless dirtball

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    9,759
    Quote Originally Posted by Neglacio View Post
    I'm a good friend of the admins ale5000 and Rolandas.
    Feel free to contact them.

    ShareazaPlus and ShareazaLite are the ONLY mods not violating GPL and will NOT bundle adware and spyware.
    The rest ask for money and/or infect your system.

    Shareaza.com is still owned by a person who left the team, but it still is reserved for the official Shareaza client. Only the IP referring too has been hijacked, not the domain.

    We can't sue them, hire an attorney, or something similar since Shareaza is free and made by volunteers. We do not have the money to start a case, nor do we want to.
    Thanks for clarification. We don't need another Earth5 type pissing contest here, I hope you understand my reservations. I can easliy find references to the hijack, had I not already heard about it, but Im not going to chase down some IRC chat trying to verify facts. We dont know you, ceceboy, wout000 or any other hiphop names. Any time multiple people all join at the same time to argue their plight, we smell something fishy.


    .

  10. #10

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    A simple google/wayback cache search can clarify everything.

    But i saw you display a fancy banner above the shareaza download link that points to a scam site aswell so it won't do much good anyway since most people will click the banner...

    hurray for scam sites !

    cough cough ...sarcasm

  11. #11
    Krell's Avatar

    worthless dirtball

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    9,759
    You verify a bad link hosted here on ZeroPaid?

    I don't get ads or banner, if this is true, can you please post the url for the ad?

    If this is the hijacked link, we will have the admins correct it.

    Thank you.

    .

  12. #12

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    sure, here goes

    http://www.zeropaid.com/php/admin/re...p2p%3DShareaza

    this ad shows on the shareaza info page right above the title 'shareaza'.

    Also, on shareaza.com, i invite you to visit their eula
    http://www.shareaza.com/eula.shtml
    and scroll down to the part where this link emerges
    www.shareaza.com/devices.shtml

    and please follow that link.

    Also all throughout their eula you can read BMB which stands for Bearshare Media Bar.
    A quick rundown on http://www.myipneighbors.com/ (domain shareaza.com)
    reveals that shareaza.com points to a server owned by imesh !

    a whois search for shareazaweb.com (site that is used as a placeholder on shareaza.com) reveals that it's owned by IMESH...

    done.

  13. #13
    Krell's Avatar

    worthless dirtball

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    9,759
    Great thanks, this is the kind of authoritative information I was looking for to begin with.

    One of the mods will forward this on to admins.


    .

  14. #14

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    11
    Thank you Neglacio, Wout000 and ceceboy for getting it sorted.

    @Krell I know you're not familiar with their nicks and probably not familiar with me as I don't come on here very often.. but I have been a member on here since April 2002 and I can vouch for them.

    I use Phlox on sites that I don't visit frequently.. but most people know me as KathW or Kath.. For verification purposes, I'm listed on here... http://sourceforge.net/project/membe...roup_id=110672

    and also here with LW.... http://www.limewire.org/forum/showgroups.php

    Regards

    Kath

  15. #15
    Krell's Avatar

    worthless dirtball

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    9,759
    Phlox I actually know who you are. And I appreciate that you vouch for them. If the OP had provided us with the same I wouldn't have questioned his authenticity.

    It's not like I'm going to go site to site to see if they're legit. So they think I'm an asshole . . . I'd rather that than have people snookered.


    .

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Warning: Shareaza Site Hacked
    By ratcat in forum Gnutella
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 20th, 2007, 03:08 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 30th, 2007, 11:01 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: July 15th, 2007, 09:50 AM
  4. Useful links for Shareaza
    By xenof in forum Gnutella
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 15th, 2005, 11:18 PM
  5. Newsleecher's Spiril Tells His Side Of The Story
    By mfgbypooter in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 8th, 2005, 01:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •