Has anyone else had an e-mail like this? I'm assuming this has something to do with Limewire (whihc uses the port mentioned in excerpt below)
WATCH OUT PEEPS - LOOKS LIKE SOMEONE IS ON TO US - Anyone with any advice or suggestions as to how the fu** im gonna get out of this, please reply - pronto.
Mail Starts-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Motion Picture Association
Worldwide Anti-Piracy
15503 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91436
PHONE: (818) 728 - 8127
Email: [email protected] <mailto:[email protected]>
Friday, November 22, 2002
Name: [email protected]
E-mail: [email protected]
ISP: Unknown
Via Fax/Email
RE: Unauthorized Distribution of Copyrighted Motion Pictures
Site/URL: gnutella://xx.xx.xx.xx[my edit]:6346/ [with IP address: xx.xx.xx.xx[again, my edit]
Reference#: xxxxxx [yet again, my edit]
Date of Infringement: 11/21/2002 12:27:28 PM GMT
Dear [email protected]:
The Motion Picture Association (MPA) represents the following motion
picture production and distribution companies:
Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc.
Disney Enterprises, Inc.
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc.
Paramount Pictures Corporation
TriStar Pictures, Inc.
Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation
United Artists Pictures, Inc.
United Artists Corporation
Universal City Studios, LLLP
Warner Bros., a Division of Time Warner Entertainment Company, L.P. We have received information that an individual has utilized the above
reference IP address at the noted date and time to offer downloads of
copyrighted motion picture(s) through a â??peer-to-peerâ?? service,
including such title(s) as:
Road To Perdition, The
The distribution of unauthorized copies of copyrighted motion pictures
constitutes copyright infringement under the Copyright Act, Title 17
United States Code Section 106(3). This conduct may also violate the
laws of other countries, international law, and/or treaty obligations. Since you own this IP address, we request that you immediately do the
following:
1. Disable access to the individual who has engaged in the conduct
described above, and
2. Take appropriate action against the account holder under your Abuse
Policy/Terms of Service Agreement.
On behalf of the respective owners of the exclusive rights to the
copyrighted material at issue in this notice, we hereby state, that we
have a good faith belief that use of the material in the manner
complained of is not authorized by the copyright owners, their
respective agents, or the law.
Also, we hereby state, under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the
State of California and under the laws of the United States, that the
information in this notification is accurate and that we are authorized
to act on behalf of the owners of the exclusive rights being infringed
as set forth in this notification.
Please contact us at the above listed address or by replying to this
email should you have any questions. Kindly include the above noted
Reference # in the subject line of all email correspondence.
We thank you for your cooperation in this matter. Your prompt response
is requested.
Respectfully,
Thomas Temple
Director
Worldwide Internet Enforcement
-------------------------------------------------------------------Mail ends
looks like a standered letter to someone they "think" is downloading on network. i would ignore it. but it is your letter. The RIAA\MPAA send out thousands of letters a month just like that to ISP's to send to users. The ISP's have to do it, its eather the letter or cut off the user. i prefer the letter.
foreverboard
(theonlybob)
"There's gonna be some stuff u gonna see that's gonna make it hard To smile in the future, but through whatever you see, Through all the rain and all the pain, you gotta keep your sense of humor. you gotta be able to smile through all this bullshit"
-Tupac Shakur
www.theonlybob.com
Do YOU Streamload?????? www.Streamload.com
on the floor mate!
id just go download some more movies. heh.
While that was mildy amusing, me thinks you should......go download some more movies. heheh
You can't triple stamp a double stamp.
Bookmarks