Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Does this site seem "fishy"to you??

  1. #1

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,012

    Does this site seem "fishy"to you??

    OK, I got this email from this site today....and for all intents and purposes it seems to be a site that sells zipped downloads of full version OEM software. They sell Microsoft products, Adobe products....generally software that sells for hundreds of dollars more than what they are selling it for.

    Now I know you can get OEM products much cheaper than you can retail products....but what sounded so "wrong" about this site, was when I read their FAQ and it stated that they gave you NO certificate of authenticity for something like a new version of windows XP.

    A few years ago, I purchased an OEM version from a reputable retailer and it DID come with a certificate of authenticity....it came in the form of a small sticker that reads: you are required to affix this certificate of authenticity to the excterior of the pc" and then gave some numbers with it ....so unless the rules have somwhow changed I am wondering if that right there makes this site illegal in the US?

    And they have an address based in the US: 210 East 59st Street
    New York, NY 10021
    (718) 524-2096

    So am I wrong about this site and it being legally able to sell software like this?

    Here is the site in question:

    http://www.soft-rt.com/

    And here is a FAQ where they explain about not giving a certificate of authenticity fora Microsoft product:

    http://www.soft-rt.com/faq.php


    This what they state on why they do not give out a certificate of authenticity on the site:

    If I purchase your Windows or Office software, does it come with the Certificate of Authenticity?
    No. We do not send COA, because its OEM-version. But we send you necessary serial numbers.

    It just seems strange that they do not offer vista or office 2007 either and this is the reason they give:

    wish buy Windows VISTA and Office 2007. Why you do not have these softwares?
    Windows Vista and Office 2007 have many defects. We do not wish to sell to our clients the unfinished softwares. We sell only full working versions. So we can sell it only 3-6 month letter.

    Seems a strange way of doing business. Especially in the US, where the laws are so strict on selling software legally.


    Also look at the price for Auto CAD 2007... AutoCAD 2007
    Retail Price: $3999.95
    Our Price: $149.95
    You Save: $3850


    You save $3, 850???? Now THAT kinda seems absurd! Like I said, I know you can get OEM cheaper than retail...but I doubt if you can legally get it THAT much cheaper.

  2. #2

    Still learning.........!

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    2,686
    I wouldn't trust them neither. They maybe gone overnight along with your CC#! Anyone could create a retail web site these days.
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 x2 (2x3.20Ghz)
    CPU Fan: Zalman NT
    Power Supply: ATX 750W Power & Cooling
    MB: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wi-Fi
    RAMs: 2x1GB Consair DDR2-667
    Video Card: PCX EVGA 8800GT 512MB
    Sound Card: SB X-FI Fatal1ty
    OS: WinXP Pro SP2
    HDDs: 1-WDC Raptor 150GB, 1-WDC 120GB 1-WDC My Book Essential 500GB, 2-Maxtor 2x250GB 1 - WDC Caviar 1TB

  3. #3
    Auggie2k's Avatar

    Back to business!

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    4,988
    Its all FAKE, dont ever download or purchase from them ok.

  4. #4
    thepuzzler's Avatar

    parp

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,118
    See this is how it starts; first you pay for newsgroups then before you know it you're paying for OEM software!

    It's the fishiest.
    A couple of sites I've been working on if you're interested http://www.howtogetfaster.co.uk, [url]http://www.documentaries.me.uk[url] and a new startup http://thelocalseo.co

  5. #5

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,012
    Quote Originally Posted by thepuzzler View Post
    See this is how it starts; first you pay for newsgroups then before you know it you're paying for OEM software!

    It's the fishiest.


    What does paying for connecting to a server have to do with this? Nothing!

  6. #6

  7. #7

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,012
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky9 View Post
    well they're listed as a spam domain
    http://www.google.com/search?q=.soft...utf-8&oe=utf-8
    you be the judge


    I didn't know that! That is why I asked.

  8. #8
    Sparky9's Avatar

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    616
    Quote Originally Posted by meyou123 View Post
    I didn't know that! That is why I asked.
    no you asked "I am wondering if that right there makes this site illegal in the US?"
    not if they spam adverts via email

  9. #9
    Reaper88's Avatar

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18
    much indeed a fake..

  10. #10

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,012
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky9 View Post
    no you asked "I am wondering if that right there makes this site illegal in the US?"
    not if they spam adverts via email
    Sparky, my reply was that I DID NOT KNOW IT WAS SPAM? OK?
    Geeze....

  11. #11

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation Two years later, and the "spam" continues

    It's over two years since the latest update to this thread,
    and yet the same New York telephone-number is listed at the bottom of the web-site for (yet!) another "discount" software site:

    Domain Name: BREONEVASTE.COM

    Fraud! Credit-card "skimming" web-site.

    Danger, Will Robinson, Danger!

    Stay away from that site. :headache:

  12. #12

    gone into the sunset

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,698
    everyone should use their common sense when dealing with any web site (even if it seems like a great deal. You know that saying..if it's too good to be true..). That's all.

  13. #13
    Malakai1911's Avatar

    hates zeropaid

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,354
    I think I've walked past this parking garage before...

    http://maps.google.com/maps?q=210+Ea...99999999999973
    My security guide @ Zeropaid


    Unless you are the following people, I do not particularly wish to associate with you:
    Krell, HelenaP, mountain_rage, mfgbypooter, Mels_Smileys45, excrement_cranium.
    That's it for now. This list will be updated whenever I feel like it.

  14. #14
    Mels_Smileys45's Avatar

    JabberZombie

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Forman's Basement
    Posts
    16,236
    I love the Google street views. I went down a lot of the canyons in California. Laural Canyon was pretty cool and I even went by the place where John Holms did the "four on the floor" murders. For a while I went all over the country site seeing. Its fun to do and almost like you are a real tourist!




    Hard as ever and here to make you people believe...as long as there is one person to hold hope and dream...A GOD...will never die!

Similar Threads

  1. Photo Agencies Scour the Web
    By Krell in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 18th, 2007, 12:23 PM
  2. North Korea Nuke Test Site
    By Jared Moya in forum Science and Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 28th, 2006, 08:30 AM
  3. Newsleecher's Spiril Tells His Side Of The Story
    By mfgbypooter in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 8th, 2005, 01:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •