Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Some info on ebay scam email(please read)

  1. #1
    .:sp00ky:.'s Avatar

    Poptart Tramp

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    In your pants.
    Posts
    2,403

    Some info on ebay scam email(please read)

    jau_peacecraft was kind enough to forward the scam ebay email he got so i could have a closer look and heres what i found out.


    the link that was shown in the email (https://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayI...ame=h:h:sin:US) is a real ebay address pointing to a real ebay server but in the email thats just a cover when you click the link it doesnt take you their it infact takes you to
    https://signin.ebay.com.ws1-secure.u...name=&siteid=0

    you could of easly spoted this by just hovering the mouse over the link and looking at the link in the bottom corner of your browser
    as you can see the main site is https://signin.ebay.com.ws1-secure.us as you can see it ends in .us not .com they have just but the official (signin.ebay.com) into their websites name, it just looks like a ebay login site to trick people into putting in their details it even comes with its own SSL Server Certificate(although fireox warned me it was fake it was signed by a company called "snake oi ltdl"when i did a whois of this address i got this

    IP 68.142.234.45
    HOST NAME p5w2.geo.re2.yahoo.com
    OrgName: Inktomi Corporation
    OrgID: INKT
    Address: 701 First Ave
    City: Sunnyvale
    StateProv: CA
    PostalCode: 94089
    Country: US

    NetRange: 68.142.192.0 - 68.142.255.255
    CIDR: 68.142.192.0/18
    NetName: INKTOMI-BLK-4
    NetHandle: NET-68-142-192-0-1
    Parent: NET-68-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS1.YAHOO.COM
    NameServer: NS2.YAHOO.COM
    NameServer: NS3.YAHOO.COM
    NameServer: NS4.YAHOO.COM
    NameServer: NS5.YAHOO.COM
    Comment: For general abuse contact [email protected].
    Comment: For Web Crawler questions please visit
    Comment: http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/ysearch/slurp/
    RegDate: 2004-03-24
    Updated: 2005-02-18

    AbuseHandle: NA258-ARIN
    AbuseName: Netblock Admin
    AbusePhone: +1-408-349-3300
    AbuseEmail: [email protected]

    OrgAbuseHandle: NETWO857-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Network Abuse
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-408-349-3300
    OrgAbuseEmail: [email protected]

    OrgTechHandle: NA258-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Netblock Admin
    OrgTechPhone: +1-408-349-3300
    OrgTechEmail: [email protected]

    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-05-14 19:10
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

    If you use ebay please forward this to them as im sure it would help them.
    Rest in peace mother

    16.1.2006

    You will always be with me.

  2. #2
    Jau_Peacecraft's Avatar

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    134
    wow....oddly i was using firefox, although a prompt did come concerning a certificate but that would be my own fault then wouldnt it eheh..-_-'. Im considering sending this info you gathered to ebay, but they might already know it since they told it was fake.

  3. #3
    Jau_Peacecraft's Avatar

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    134
    man those bastards, im tempted to start writing thousands of snail mail with this evidence , threatning to sue. I so wish that could fucking work, maybe they'll enjoy getting fucked in the ass.

    bleh, id do so much if thousands of people wrote like 10 snail mails and emails each to these fucks, with the evidence and someone garners a petition or somehting for legal action.

    faggots.

Similar Threads

  1. Ebay Launches Music Downloading Auction Site
    By crackerjacker in forum News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 9th, 2005, 07:22 AM
  2. didnt think id fuck up like this ebay inquiry
    By Jau_Peacecraft in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 17th, 2005, 10:05 PM
  3. eBay Spoof/fake emails on the rise-- BEWARE
    By Mad Man Joe in forum News
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 13th, 2004, 10:16 PM
  4. How can i test my DSL connection??
    By dsantamassino in forum Problems & Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 17th, 2004, 08:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •