Hi all
I just wanted to warn the people that downloaded or (have the intention to) the newest version of Direct Connect ++ 0.068 to be careful when they install it.
I always have ad watch ON and and as soon as i clicked on the DC ++ installer , i got a warning telling me that the file cserve32.exe tried to modify one my registry settings so that it would run on startup.I blocked it with the ad watch and it worked but it still created the file cserv32.exe in C:\WINDOWS\cserv32.exe.
I googled cserv32.exe and it came with no results other than this link :
»www.spywarefri.dk/forum/topic.asp?TOPI..
I don't understand the language but i can definitively see that the guy is telling the other to fix cserv32.exe , which probably means that it is spyware/malware.
Can someone try to confirm this ? I downloaded DC ++ 0.068 from download.com (maybe it have something to do with it)
I always used DC ++ and it never had any crap in it until this version so if they started to bundle their prog with spywares , then the people need to know.
where did u download your version of dc ++ from.
if u got it from that spyware infested malware site openwares.org or something then thats why u having a problem.
dc ++ is spyware free.
maybe the version or one u got is not the legitimate one
do u know u downloaded it from?
what? I've been using .668 for awhile (it isn't new) with zero issue...
Yes , i got it from download.com and now it look like they , and not DC ++ itself are at fault.Originally Posted by crackerjacker
I almost never use download.com but the sourceforge download servers seemed to be down
I made a similar thread at dslreports.com an another guy found a trojan in the executable archive:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/rema...5809~mode=flat
I used DC ++ for a long time top and never had any problems with spywares/malware too so that's why i was kinda surprised when i found that crap.
But now it look like it is download.com fault so everything is alright with the world :) (except for download.com.They will get a nasty email from me , that's for sure)
I'm using oDC 5.31. Never had a problem with it.
Neither did iOriginally Posted by rainbowdemon
But like i said , it look like download.com have an infected version on their servers.DC ++ itself have nothing to do with it.
On another note , NOD32 , fully updated and with advanced heuristics ON , detected nothing when i scanned the cserv32.exe file and the DC ++.exe :( while.the other guy that scanned with KAV on dslr forums detected it.
I am more worried about this than the trojan itself (which was easy to remove and did nothing , thanks to ad watch).
And the survey says............ bcdc++ 0.306
Always be nice to those around you. After all, some day you might need CPR.......
Just to be safe, I ran Trojan Hunter. All it said is that the ports that DC uses are open. Well, I already knew that. I have DC running right now.
I heard through various sites tha sponsor p2p apps.. will install their own software or modify the file and add crap to it.. Go get it from original source.
I would have liked to continue using 0.4 version but too many hubs are making you upgrade the 0.6 these days.
Insert sig image here
Since its inception almost 30 years ago, the internet has been transformed from a primitive device for sharing thoughts and ideas, into a massive network where people pay to connect and read advertisements they don't want, while calling each other "asshats".
Originally Posted by Wolfie
any hub that would do that sucks anyway and is obviously run by idiots
:icon_rr: I thing dc plus plus its great, u hawe ewerything u ned on it
Bookmarks