Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Question

  1. #1

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8

    Question

    This may seem like a newbe question...
    Does DC++ and Shareaza have adware/spyware?

  2. #2

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    p2pconsortium.com i live
    Posts
    6,446
    nope they both are spyware and adware free. just make sure you download these programs from their original site.

  3. #3

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8
    I got them at download.com, is that site safe?

  4. #4
    Mels_Smileys45's Avatar

    JabberZombie

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Forman's Basement
    Posts
    16,236
    Download.com is your friend! Yes its a safe site. They frown upon programs that try to install spyware of any kind and if a program has any spyware options in it, they always post a warning. Its a site you should bookmark




    Hard as ever and here to make you people believe...as long as there is one person to hold hope and dream...A GOD...will never die!

  5. #5
    Stownplayer's Avatar

    Stown 3.0

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A Vortex of Hell
    Posts
    774

    I'm confused

    I thought download.com was helping distribute the bad version of peerguardian? I could be wrong though.
    01010000011010010111001001100001011101000110010100 10000000110100001000000110110001101001011001100110 0101

  6. #6

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for the help!

  7. #7
    Mels_Smileys45's Avatar

    JabberZombie

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Forman's Basement
    Posts
    16,236
    I have not heard that Stown. Download.com is a very trustworty site but I guess anything can happen when dealing with so many programs.




    Hard as ever and here to make you people believe...as long as there is one person to hold hope and dream...A GOD...will never die!

  8. #8

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    p2pconsortium.com i live
    Posts
    6,446
    Well the way it happen was that someone took peer guardians software and bundled it with spyware, the same thing happen with shareaza.
    openwares.org is responsible for peer guardians bundling of spyware.

    The shareaza incident happened on cnet where some asshole bundled the shareaza software with spyware and presented it as their own work.

    Like i said the best place to go for the program you want is their home page, unless you can go to a trusted site to get the file you want.

    I am not saying cnet or any other site is unsafe but I just wanna add as of late u got to realize that anyone can upload a file to a site that allows people to download files and present the file as being their own work, which in fact can be someone elses work. After they do that they bundle the software with adware, spyware and malware.

    So once again I would suggest getting the files first from the programs website to be sure its the real deal.
    peace

Similar Threads

  1. Begginer Question
    By Richard5037 in forum BitTorrent
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 13th, 2004, 09:04 PM
  2. Getting New Broadband Question ???
    By PowerMan57two in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: July 15th, 2004, 02:20 PM
  3. another linux question
    By Herr.Wenz in forum Problems & Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 8th, 2004, 10:54 AM
  4. Really Dumb Question
    By Burd in forum Problems & Questions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: May 7th, 2004, 06:06 AM
  5. question for hunter and anyone else who knows
    By Unbezwingbar in forum Spyware & Adware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 25th, 2004, 01:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •