Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: IMPORTANT: All p2p with spyware - from openwares.org

  1. #1
    method's Avatar

    yeah, whatever...

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New World Order HQ
    Posts
    1,180

    IMPORTANT: All p2p with spyware - from openwares.org

    Admins/operators.. please read this fully as it could effect a lot of p2p apps and subsequently a lot of our p2p community.

    Openwares.org - P2P-Application Spyware-Infesters

    There is a website called openwares.org which takes freeware and open source software to claim as their own (as 'publisher').

    They do this without any approval from the developers or software producers and then wrap various items of p2p software in spyware-infested installers.

    This is a problem for both PeerGuardian and Protowall users as openwares.org have submitted their malware-versions to download.com, zdnet, softpedia and other places.

    The bastards are even doing this with bittorrent related applications.

    So, I'm making this post to inform people that if you want the REAL versions of any software from any p2p developer... look out for the name openwares.org as they are releasing lots of unofficial, spyware-loaded versions of other peoples software through respectable freeware/shareware download sites.

    Over 90,000 have been scammed on PeerGuardian alone and they've even done it with some of my other work which I deemed unfit for public consumption.

    If you see 'openwares.org' on anything p2p related report it as spyware. I'm being very serious about this, I'm not sure exactly how to get back at them for this but the least I can do is warn the whole p2p community.

    I'd also appreciate it if all p2p site/forum operators would be kind enough to highlight the risks posed by openwares.org and the way they repackage clean, free software with their spyware infested installers.

    Peace!!
    ||| = + |-|---------No longer lurking...
    m e t h o d-----...Target aquired: BREIN

  2. #2
    Malicious Intent's Avatar

    People on my cool list...

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Swindon
    Posts
    3,122
    I wondered what was up with them. They often submit to Slyck. I thought they were a kind of sourceforge, but I always go to the main site and then post that instead.

    I think we are talking about the same place. It looks familiar, but I haven't seen it in a while. Perhaps because I never linked to them, they thought Slyck was on to them?!?

    Remember the reason they can do this is for the same reason that we can do so much on the internet. Don't go wishing away the wild west nature too quickly! In saying that, I do of course feel your fustration :(
    I'm not really malicious. I'm a nice guy.
    If you are even slightly concerned about your BT speeds, please check this thread.
    SuprNova and LokiTorrent Alternatives - reliable sites, no registrations, no foreign languages. Constantly updated.

  3. #3
    method's Avatar

    yeah, whatever...

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New World Order HQ
    Posts
    1,180
    Well.. I can play dirty too.

    But more than anything, I just wanted to warn people off anything with the openwares name attached.

    And if anyone is in doubt feel free to check user comments on download.com or read the forums on methlabs.org.

    C'ya!!
    ||| = + |-|---------No longer lurking...
    m e t h o d-----...Target aquired: BREIN

  4. #4
    Malicious Intent's Avatar

    People on my cool list...

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Swindon
    Posts
    3,122
    I've posted it in the Slyck admin-type forum :)
    I'm not really malicious. I'm a nice guy.
    If you are even slightly concerned about your BT speeds, please check this thread.
    SuprNova and LokiTorrent Alternatives - reliable sites, no registrations, no foreign languages. Constantly updated.

  5. #5
    Malicious Intent's Avatar

    People on my cool list...

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Swindon
    Posts
    3,122
    Put insults to them in the sourcecode like them virus writing wankers!
    I'm not really malicious. I'm a nice guy.
    If you are even slightly concerned about your BT speeds, please check this thread.
    SuprNova and LokiTorrent Alternatives - reliable sites, no registrations, no foreign languages. Constantly updated.

  6. #6
    spy1's Avatar

    Registered User

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    14
    I'm not doubting your word here, method - but I've never had any problem with anything from Openwares org. being "wrapped in spyware-infested installers" (granted, the only two things I've ever gotten from there were the IE Patch and the game program - nothing P2P-related).

    You're not referring to the updater that comes automatically with anything you get from there, are you? Because that's been known about for a long time and is easily disabled. I believe this is the last time I answered a question about that, if it's what you're speaking of.

    Of course, they may have done something altogether else since the last time I got anything from them. In any case, I hope you get your situation with them resolved to your satisfaction. Pete

  7. #7
    method's Avatar

    yeah, whatever...

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New World Order HQ
    Posts
    1,180
    It's the same for "Torrent Search"... except there over 100,000 users have been fooled.

    And again, in comments there's verbal abuse about the spyware.

    Same with the their Arcade games.
    http://www.download.com/3302-2099_4-10303349.html

    Torrent Search 2.0.2
    http://www.download.com/3302-2166_4-10308084.html

    PeerGuardian 1.99.21 (that's not even a proper PG version number!!)
    http://www.download.com/3302-2144_4-10303292.html

    DivX Player Lite (With DivX & XviD Codec) 1.0.2
    http://www.download.com/3302-2139_4-10305535.html

    emule++
    http://www.download.com/3302-2166_4-10303021.html

    Dope Wars Online
    http://www.download.com/3302-7551_4-10305272.html

    Notice how all of these comments include mention regarding spyware infestations??? Coincidence???
    ||| = + |-|---------No longer lurking...
    m e t h o d-----...Target aquired: BREIN

  8. #8

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    p2pconsortium.com i live
    Posts
    6,446
    hmm
    That is why its best to get the files from trusted sources and websites. Its unfortunate that alot of newbies are not aware of whats happening. I am sure the word is being spread as of now.

Similar Threads

  1. Spyware \ Ad-aware Facts
    By shawners in forum Spyware & Adware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 20th, 2008, 04:01 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: July 25th, 2005, 07:09 PM
  3. P2P News
    By tamarisk in forum News
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 27th, 2004, 10:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •