Theres something very weird going on with WinMx. Read this thread and see what you think is going on. http://vladd44.com/phpBB2/viewtopic....er=asc&start=0
It has been suggested this might be some new virus. Im almost starting to believe it could be another client trying to hack into the WPN. At any rate somethings going on, I just hope its not a hacker trying to take winmx out.
Hard as ever and here to make you people believe...as long as there is one person to hold hope and dream...A GOD...will never die!
Hmm, I've heard of this happening, although I've never had it happen to me personally. I don't share anything that small. But hopefully the guys at frontcode know about this and can do something about it. About those guys talking about WinMX being vulnerable, any p2p network is vulnerable. You just need to find a weakness and properly exploit it.
That's freaky, to say the least. I haven't used MX for a couple of weeks. Thanks for the heads up. You should post that list of bad IP's in this thread too.
I have had it happen to me just the other day and I couldnt figure out what was going on. thwo users kept hitting me for small files but just timing out always. It didnt last that long though so I jst thought it was something buggt going on and changed hosts. Now I dont know.
Hard as ever and here to make you people believe...as long as there is one person to hold hope and dream...A GOD...will never die!
I'm glad you brought it here, I have noticed similiar instances, and have even seen "fake_chaser". Let's not reinvent the wheel, they're clearly attempting to test this. I will watch the board to see if they have any new developments, not piddle in their threads unless I would have something of real weight to contribute. *hint*
.
i think your link just killed their forum's bw limit
edit:Warning: mysql_connect(): Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10055) in C:\Program Files\Abyss Web Server\htdocs\phpBB2\db\mysql4.php on line 48
Warning: mysql_error(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Program Files\Abyss Web Server\htdocs\phpBB2\db\mysql4.php on line 330
Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Program Files\Abyss Web Server\htdocs\phpBB2\db\mysql4.php on line 331
phpBB : Critical Error
Could not connect to the database
Would really like someone to help find the IP's of the uploaders. The ip's listed on vladd's forum are only for the "sharers". Blocking those specific IP's listed or taking it a step further and blocking the whole ranges doesn't prevent them from uploading. But here they are:
209.11.134.19 [[email protected]]
209.11.134.20 [[email protected]]
209.11.134.21 [[email protected]]
220.255.197.222 [[email protected]]
217.207.155.235 [[email protected]]
204.193.136.57 [[email protected]]
Dont think it's a virus since it is doing an extremely crappy job at replicating itself. I lean towards tracking the network or sabotage.
Hmm..very interesting and freaky
Damn, another reason WHY Frontcode should release the new version and participate in the community :(
the only thing i can think why they are doing it through small files, is if they are installing a virus of some sort on it and passing it around. Small files can be a KeyGen as well as serial texst, jpg could be redirecting link to download files.
I haven't noticed this on WIMMIX, but now that it's been mentioned, I have noticed something similar while using KCEasy which connects to Gnutella as one of its networks. Sometimes when you do a search for a certain song or album, you get like a hundred entries all from the same user. If you try to download them, they either don't connect or they are fake. I thought to myself, "why is this guy offering so many copies of the same songs?" Hmmmm.
that could be the case IF they had their files available for download but all attempts to download from them result in a "connection refused" if you try searching for alternates based on the HASH you wont get a match. The ppl trying to upload aren't sharing files so nothing to download from them. In short; half are sharing bogus files (priamrily MP3, OGG and WMA) the other half aren't sharing anything at all and getting into ppl's queues. So how could a virus spread?
maybe its not a virus. Put it like this.. An album pops up on their.. its been ripped and now being shared, its easy being shared cause its the only source and files listed. their idea is to do what kazaa does.. But more advanced. Suppose they put up fake songs to get you to try to download, but once the connections been made, maybe their trying to browse through your files to see if or what your sharing... Tieing queues up so everyone waits longer. I would recommend to stop using it since winmx is so blantly bad on downloading files.
You're gonna hurt someone's feelings there...Originally Posted by shawners
they deserve it
wheres winmx 4
not even a hey were not dead
screenie!!
I've seen these "names" around. especially when I did a search on T** T****** - B** S**, (name changed to protect the board), there were like five names of that type sharing ALL the files on the wpn, but the legit ones were on opennap, so they're confined to that network, for the time being. you couldn't d/l from them, some had large queues (100+) some had no queues, all were sharing multiple copies and you couldn't message them at all. and this was like in January.
hmmm. I only share 1 text file but I could have sworn "users" of that type were hammering me for certain popular mp3's I was sharing one night....you know, that one night I made that crazy paranoid thread. You couldn't message the users, the connections timed out or connected then disconnected, and they'd try again, over and over and over. They never bugged me liked that after that though, and I didn't change any of my habits. could that be related to this? I know this issue is more on small text files and jpg's, but still....
oh, and supreme:
if you're going to spam, please spam in english, thank you.Originally Posted by SUprEMeBeiNg
Indie Music You Need NOW: Bright Eyes, British Sea Power, Calla, Death Cab For Cutie, Graham Coxon, Interpol, Low, The Libertines, Cat Power, Squarepusher, The Coral, Desaparecidos, The Decemberists
no RIAA, Guaranteed!
Bookmarks