Hey ppl....
Just got an email from my ISP:
Dear Customer,
We have received the following email regarding copyrighted material that you have available on your PC from the IP address supplied by ourselves.
I should draw your attention to section 4 of the Terms and Conditions that states:
4. Improper Use
The customer must NOT use the service:
- To send, encourage the receipt of, upload, download, use or re-use any material which is abusive, indecent, defamatory, obscene or menacing, or in breach of copyright, confidence, privacy or any other rights or which may contain viruses or other similar programs, or which causes overloads to the PlusNet system.
The full Ts&Cs may be viewed at: ***********************
Please disallow the sharing of the offending material.
Kind Regards,
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1
Re: Unauthorized Use of Universal Motion Pictures
Notice ID: 885212
31 Jul 2003 07:37:31 GMT
Universal City Studios Productions LLLP and its affiliated companies (collectively, "Universal") are the exclusive owners of copyrights in many motion pictures, including the motion pictures listed below.
It has come to our attention that Force 9 Internet is the service provider for the IP address listed below, from which unauthorized copying and distribution (downloading, uploading, file serving, file "swapping" or other similar activities) of Universal’s motion picture(s) listed below is taking place. We believe that the Internet access of the user engaging in this infringement is provided by Force 9 Internet or a downstream service provider who purchases this connectivity from Force 9 Internet.
This unauthorized copying and distribution constitutes copyright infringement under applicable national laws and international treaties. Although various legal and equitable remedies may be available to Universal as a result of such infringement, Universal believes that the entire Internet community benefits when these matters are resolved cooperatively. We urge you to take immediate action to stop this infringing activity and inform us of the results of your actions. We appreciate your efforts toward this common goal.
Please be advised that this letter is not and is not intended to be a complete statement of the facts or law as they may pertain to this matter or of Universal’s positions, rights or remedies, legal or equitable, all of which are specifically reserved.
Very truly yours,
Internet Anti-Piracy Team,
Worldwide Anti-Piracy Operations
VIVENDI UNIVERSAL ENTERTAINMENT.
100 Universal City Plaza
Universal City, CA 91608
tel. (818) 777-3111
fax (818) 866-6339
[email protected]
*pgp public key is available on the key server at ldap://keyserver.pgp.com
** For any correspondence regarding this case, please send your emails to [email protected] and refer to Notice ID: ******** If you need immediate assistance or if you have general questions please email [email protected].
Title: Nutty Professor, The
Infringement Source: eDonkey
Initial Infringement Timestamp: **Jul 2003 **:**:**GMT Recent Infringment Timestamp: ** Jul 2003 **:**:** GMT Infringer Username: None Infringing Filename: The Nutty Professor [Jerry Lewis].avi Infringing Filesize: 734261248 Infringers IP Address: ***.***.***.*** Infringers DNS Name: ******.*****.****.Infringing URL: ed2k://***.***.***.***:4662
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: 8.0
iQA/AwUBPykc50AGe/JElwagEQKwXgCgjctHlS5xxEmjOtY4jlyQu9P1i0AAoK1W
hSXOemDw3bH+CEFmu3n3CWVz
=mjxP
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
Thing is I only had 170MB of the 700MB file....... and its a well old well (1967) I know its skill under copyright but I have got brand new films and I havent had a warning before................ can another give me advice for to protect myself...
Cheers
Ste
Well, I ahevn't got any warnings or subpeonas yet, but I dont think that means anything. It is their word against yours, they really dont have any concrete proof that you actually downloaded it. You didn't even finish the download.
to protects yourself, jut dont use Kazaa and youll be fine. Those are just crappy warnings youll prolly never get another. Has anybody ever gotten more than one of these things?
Since you are using edonkey you share files that your upload and one of the bots got you.
Which since this will only be increasing on edonkey it will be interesting to see how the network will hold up.
I dunno what they could do if the file is incomplete and thus not working but since your still able to distribute it id avoid getting caught anymore because it would only cause more headaches. Other than that you should be ok.
To be safe id delete the file and just not use the edonkey for a while.
Actually, this does have some significance as your IP address has been noticed and logged. Considering your ISP has been contacted by a major motion picture entity, it could be possible that transmissions coming and going from your PC may be a bit more scrutinized...even by bots. To be quite honest, I feel your notice is more of a warning than a possible lawsuit threat. It is true, a simple log cannot stand as absolute evidence that you were the one operating your machine with a certain IP address at a certain time. But I would imagine the target for any legal battle would be aimed directly at the ISP account subscriber (if that is you). I'd stop using eDonkey indefinitely (and any other filesharing programs for that matter, atleast with your current ISP). I'm sure no one here would think any less of you (even some of the hardcore anti-corporate rebels that haven't received such a notice). :tiltedWell, I ahevn't got any warnings or subpeonas yet, but I dont think that means anything. It is their word against yours, they really dont have any concrete proof that you actually downloaded it. You didn't even finish the download.
i don't know anyone who has been sued for sharing movies, so far there's been several cease and desist letters. and some people have had service disconnected, solved with a phone call. right now movies has no severity compared to music
I dont believe in coincidences, I believe in God.
Ecclesiastes 3
Proverbs 2-6
Season Numbers
http://read.nwsource.com/highschool/basketball/boys/players/totals.cfm?PlayerID=34378
are you blind? he got the warning when he was using edonkey. nothing of kazaa was ever mentioned. and they do have proof. they have his IP and proof that he was sharing it. it doesnt matter if it was complete or not, its copywrighted workOriginally posted by REDO
to protects yourself, jut dont use Kazaa and youll be fine.
Lol true wonderboy. Most of the networks now are still unsafe. The only true safe encrypted network is probaly WASTE, and maybe Earth Station 5.
lol he's right you must be dumb. Every program is a liability, you don't think the RIAa knows there's users who don't use kazaa.Originally posted by REDO
Well, I ahevn't got any warnings or subpeonas yet, but I dont think that means anything. It is their word against yours, they really dont have any concrete proof that you actually downloaded it. You didn't even finish the download.
to protects yourself, jut dont use Kazaa and youll be fine. Those are just crappy warnings youll prolly never get another. Has anybody ever gotten more than one of these things?
I dont believe in coincidences, I believe in God.
Ecclesiastes 3
Proverbs 2-6
Season Numbers
http://read.nwsource.com/highschool/basketball/boys/players/totals.cfm?PlayerID=34378
Bookmarks