Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Code Red Attack detected early this morning

  1. #1
    Rahwgwar's Avatar

    Headstrong

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    772

    Code Red Attack detected early this morning

    This morning a DOS attack was detected. It occurred at around 8:50..........The remote host? 206.107.239.109, which has valid reverse DNS of cblmdm206-107-239-109.buckeye-express.com..............I did a traceroute and found out that it was based in Toledo, Ohio.

    This is what I managed to compile:
    Buckeye: Denial of Service "Code Red" attack detected.
    Description:
    A Code Red attack from outside is detected, it is a very dangerous virus that will deface your webpages, perform a denial-of-service attack, and even crash your system. (Protocol: TCP)
    Traffic from IP address 206.107.239.109 is blocked from 06/24/2003 08:50:18 to 06/24/2003 09:00:18.

    IPs involved:
    206.107.239.109 (remote host)
    Domain Servers:
    208.16.180.5
    208.16.180.6
    IPs gained from Traceroute:
    130.152.80.30
    4.24.4.249
    4.24.4.2
    4.24.5.49
    64.159.4.29
    209.247.9.214
    209.0.227.38
    152.63.115.142
    152.63.112.42
    152.63.1.145
    152.63.68.81
    152.63.67.130
    152.63.67.49
    152.63.69.185
    65.195.240.226
    208.16.181.21

    Registrant:
    Buckeye Cablevision, Inc. (BUCKEYE-EXPRESS-DOM)
    5566 Southwyck Boulevard
    Toledo, OH 43614
    US

    Domain Name: BUCKEYE-EXPRESS.COM

    Administrative Contact:
    Shryock, Paul W (pws4) [email protected]
    Buckeye Cablevision, Inc.
    5566 Southwyck Blvd
    Toledo, OH 43614-1576
    US
    419-724-9802 fax: 419-724-7074
    Technical Contact:
    Access Toledo (DT1970-ORG) [email protected]
    4818 Angola Rd
    Toledo, OH 43615
    US
    419-724-4000 fax: 419-724-4001

    Record expires on 05-Oct-2003.
    Record created on 15-Oct-2002.
    Database last updated on 24-Jun-2003 13:30:39 EDT.

    Domain servers in listed order:

    NS1.ACCESSTOLEDO.COM 208.16.180.5
    NS2.ACCESSTOLEDO.COM 208.16.180.6

    Attached is a screen shot.............my question is........Why in the hell would these guys try to aggressively attack my PC on 2 counts? Anyone else get this often? I'm on a dialup modem.......Secondly how worried should I be about this?.....Is this P2P related?....Other than blocking these IPs is there anything else sensible I can do?.......I had Kazaa and PG running at the time. I should have closed my browser before I went to bed. I also had Ad Subtract Pro going, that's it. Thanks.
    To all my freaks out there: HOLLA if ya hear me.

    I can be characterized as the smartest dumbass and the dumbest smartass.

    My favorite P2P apps: Ares, Clean Blubster, BCDC++, Emule Plus, Shareaza, Bittorent

  2. #2
    smash's Avatar

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle of nowhere.
    Posts
    126
    he probably didn't.

    the thing is that his server is probably infected with code red, and is trying to infect your server. simple as that. you should probably e-mail him and tell him to get all of the updates on WindowsUpdate then goto mcafee.com and get the clean-up tool.
    my website:
    http://www.smashsworld.com/
    the Lan2P project (p2p for local area networks):
    http://www.lan2p.com/
    bitoogle: torrent file search...
    http://www.bitoogle.com/

  3. #3
    Rahwgwar's Avatar

    Headstrong

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    772

    Sry.....forgot pic

    ........................
    Attached Images Attached Images
    To all my freaks out there: HOLLA if ya hear me.

    I can be characterized as the smartest dumbass and the dumbest smartass.

    My favorite P2P apps: Ares, Clean Blubster, BCDC++, Emule Plus, Shareaza, Bittorent

  4. #4

    Zeropaid Noob

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    p2pconsortium.com i live
    Posts
    6,446
    some of those ip addresses look quite familiar.
    dont allow outbound tcp connections or incoming bound connections from those ip addresses.
    peace

  5. #5
    chipperrox's Avatar

    What the Hell is a Rant?

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,244
    send those peopel a messages telling them to get a better system and to stop being dumbasses at a corp dont you think they should have everything updated?
    Originally posted by TipYourBartender
    For shizzle my nizzle, its the TYBizzle hizzle.
    Chizzle's avizzzle is the shizzle!!!!
    Yo, TYBizzle didnt get no spizzle from cpugizzle.
    What the dizzle, homes?

    I have no idea what I just wrote.

  6. #6
    Rahwgwar's Avatar

    Headstrong

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    772
    Well my two most major concerns were that it was a company sent to do RIAA's evil bidding.......yet another scanner...........or a malicious hacker that for one reason or another targeted me. I'm still not convinced that it's not the first one. I consider my security generally tight.

    I don't see how they could have tried to infect me. I had no communication with this corp whatsoever.........Maybe I'm paranoid, but it seems a little bit coincidental/suspicous to me.
    To all my freaks out there: HOLLA if ya hear me.

    I can be characterized as the smartest dumbass and the dumbest smartass.

    My favorite P2P apps: Ares, Clean Blubster, BCDC++, Emule Plus, Shareaza, Bittorent

  7. #7
    Power Penguin's Avatar

    ZeroPaid Regular

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    655

    What is a Traceroute

    I think you should only be worried if you run servers and you have open ports.

  8. #8

    Alpha Geek

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    724
    I really really hate personal firewall software that reports trivial stuff as a
    "DOS attack" or calls a ping an "ICMP attack. I am not sure if they do it to
    make it seem risky and exciting or to scare lamers into paying them more money
    for a pro version or somthing.

    I have a log of all the incoming chatter on my port 80 from febuary.
    3500 codered/nimbda exploit attempts in a month from about 12 different
    hosts per day.

    Amuse yourself complaints if you wish. You will get no reply or a
    "You have been allocated incident number #107346776347" automated
    reply. Even if they find the person stupid enough to connect
    microsoft IIS to the internet and beat him to death with an XT keyboard you
    will get nothing more than a "this incident has been invesdigated
    and is now closed" response.

    >You might find yourself in trouble.
    No he won't. There is nothing wrong with telling people about an infected machine.

    >Congrats. you just helped screw this guy over.
    He screw himself through his own stupidity

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •