View Full Version : Is Demonoid safe????
View Full Version : Is Demonoid safe????
Shenmuex
July 21st, 2007, 09:41 PM
http://www.kimsoft.org/Forste%20side/bilder/demonoid.JPG
I read all the stuff surrounding the supposed takedown of Demonoid, and the exposure of the slavic owner by the Dutch anti piracy org BREIN.
But is it true and furthermore why was the site offline for so many days, did they move to another server or are BREIN/MPAA waiting to catch and fine uploaders? I think there's something fishy going on over there?
I hope that somebody can explain the whole situation to us scenelovers, so guys give your opinion on this matter.
:icon_scra
etos45
July 21st, 2007, 11:25 PM
You know, I've been kind of wondering the same thing. I'll admit that I am a little over paranoid sometimes, but I do feel that even if it wasn't a complete site takeover (which, I don't think it is), I do believe that it's extremely easy to get in, and that it's probably being watched and logged by someone. If I were on that site getting things, I would at least try to avoid anything large that might get me noticed.
fangoria
July 22nd, 2007, 01:18 AM
I've heard of at least 2 or 3 people there who received a notice from their ISP(forget if it was AT&T or Verizon, I think it was) to quit downloading copy righted stuff after downloading Hollywood movies from there. I think there are MPAA people there who monitor popular torrents(some cases where they upload something bogus themselves) to trap people. I don't download anything remotely popular there if it's a Hollywood movie. Mostly I download TV shows or odd international movies. It's a great resource for Windows apps as well.
drtoker
July 22nd, 2007, 04:26 AM
no site that allows dht and distribution of their torrents to other sites is safe, period.
klekle
July 22nd, 2007, 10:15 PM
no site that allows dht and distribution of their torrents to other sites is safe, period.
agreed!
their distribution is "illegal" i mean... if a film is at the movies it shouldnt be downloaded right?
I love demonoid... but...
u know..
mundix
July 22nd, 2007, 11:12 PM
demonoid has most files i need..but, knowing that it's easy to get in, you should have at least some protection, like ipfilter or peer guardian... it may not always be foolproof, but you'll be safer..
Rocker19
July 22nd, 2007, 11:32 PM
Good stuff to know...thats why I stick to private trackers. But when I have used sites as Demoniad and public trackers, I've never has issues or gotten letters.
enter8
July 23rd, 2007, 12:58 AM
But when I have used sites as Demoniad and public trackers, I've never has issues or gotten letters.
You're either VERY lucky or, more probably, your isp isn't forwarding the complaints.
terminal
July 23rd, 2007, 01:23 AM
You're right, public, easy to get trackers, dht, etc. it all contributes to a higher risk. But I've also heard from other private trackers, like TL, to get the same warnings. (but then again,TL is also easy to get). I guess there's no risk free, but a closer, private tracker could get you more security due to the way the whole invite system works.
drtoker
July 23rd, 2007, 01:33 AM
You're right, public, easy to get trackers, dht, etc. it all contributes to a higher risk. But I've also heard from other private trackers, like TL, to get the same warnings. (but then again,TL is also easy to get). I guess there's no risk free, but a closer, private tracker could get you more security due to the way the whole invite system works.
That would be news to me. I've only seen letters containing public trackers or places that allow dht like demonoid (might as well be public if you do this). Only private trackers i've seen included in letters were shut down not long after. Anyone who can verify letters sent out from announcing to TL let me know...
touki
July 23rd, 2007, 01:41 AM
nothing on the net is safe, but i love demonoid and i think you would be a little paranoid not to use it because a few people have recieved letters...
terminal
July 23rd, 2007, 01:41 AM
That would be news to me. I've only seen letters containing public trackers or places that allow dht like demonoid (might as well be public if you do this). Only private trackers i've seen included in letters were shut down not long after. Anyone who can verify letters sent out from announcing to TL let me know...
Not my personal experience, but i've read about it in other forums.
drtoker
July 23rd, 2007, 01:44 AM
nothing on the net is safe, but i love demonoid and i think you would be a little paranoid not to use it because a few people have recieved letters...
try a few thousand... and that doesnt make you paranoid, it makes you smart.
touki
July 23rd, 2007, 02:18 AM
still out of 1million+ members, i like my odds.
i guess you could call me a gambling man.
it is such a good resource, while speeds may not be the best, the amount of files on there is awesome.
Jorge Jr. & Ancho
July 23rd, 2007, 10:38 AM
Demonoid got two ways of tracking, tracked by (external and demonoid).
Just wondering maybe people are getting this notification coz they are using the extrnal one/or both
Would really like to hear everyone's views
Thanks
I myself never use the external, just tracked by demonoid only
JJ&A
robincheema
July 24th, 2007, 06:23 AM
demonoid is one of the best private tracker out there.
fridash
July 24th, 2007, 03:30 PM
they can never stop people from sharing as long as there cumputres there will be piracy
barrakuda
July 24th, 2007, 11:44 PM
I use demonoid for music I don't want to waste my ratio at OiNK on.
I wouldn't get anything super popular, but noone cares about what I'm downloading.
Melpond
July 27th, 2007, 11:14 AM
Wow, with all this buzz about demonoid being unsafe, I guess this lowers the value of demonoid invitation codes...oh, and by the way, does anyone have a demonoid invitation code that I can use?
enter8
July 27th, 2007, 11:32 AM
I wouldn't get anything super popular, but noone cares about what I'm downloading.
I'm the same way- flying well below the radar ;)
tommygo
July 27th, 2007, 11:33 PM
ive been on it for 6 years and ive been ok but in reality is anything safe any time you open invites any snake can slide its way in
sumtingwong
August 2nd, 2007, 12:57 PM
I've had letters from downloading off of The Pirates Bay and mininova. Now I use private trackers like Digitalhive and Leecherslair, and never have a problem.
tommygo
August 2nd, 2007, 05:47 PM
i always like to dl from where i feel comfortable at.....and get no letters
AliGEver
August 3rd, 2007, 03:24 AM
I asked this question one but didnt get an answer
Can MPAA/RIAA sue u when ur outside US or UE??
enter8
August 4th, 2007, 08:55 AM
I asked this question one but didnt get an answer
Can MPAA/RIAA sue u when ur outside US or UE??
I don't think anyone here is versed enough in international copyright law to feel comfortable enough to give you an answer.
From what I can tell, the MPAA/RIAA seem to be following the path of least resistance when it comes to prosecuting file sharing. US college kids with college providers who are willing to sell them out. This may change in the future, but for the time being, I think it's pretty safe for filesharers in other countries- unless, of course, you live in a country that has a powerful movie industry/music industry of it's own.
Akamajor
August 5th, 2007, 12:23 AM
it is safe man...but the speed sucks some times...........
in2torrenting
August 5th, 2007, 07:28 PM
I got letters When downloading from torrentspy, guess I should have known...
fazzy07
August 6th, 2007, 09:22 AM
I got letters too .. thats why I am not using public sites anymore .. demonoid is mix of public n private ..
VirusMage
August 7th, 2007, 05:11 AM
At least it's not completely public. Just be sure you use Peer Guardian and you should be fine.