PDA

View Full Version : Does this site seem "fishy"to you??


View Full Version : Does this site seem "fishy"to you??


meyou123
February 19th, 2007, 11:05 AM
OK, I got this email from this site today....and for all intents and purposes it seems to be a site that sells zipped downloads of full version OEM software. They sell Microsoft products, Adobe products....generally software that sells for hundreds of dollars more than what they are selling it for.

Now I know you can get OEM products much cheaper than you can retail products....but what sounded so "wrong" about this site, was when I read their FAQ and it stated that they gave you NO certificate of authenticity for something like a new version of windows XP.

A few years ago, I purchased an OEM version from a reputable retailer and it DID come with a certificate of authenticity....it came in the form of a small sticker that reads: you are required to affix this certificate of authenticity to the excterior of the pc" and then gave some numbers with it ....so unless the rules have somwhow changed I am wondering if that right there makes this site illegal in the US?

And they have an address based in the US: 210 East 59st Street
New York, NY 10021
(718) 524-2096

So am I wrong about this site and it being legally able to sell software like this?

Here is the site in question:

http://www.soft-rt.com/

And here is a FAQ where they explain about not giving a certificate of authenticity fora Microsoft product:

http://www.soft-rt.com/faq.php


This what they state on why they do not give out a certificate of authenticity on the site:

If I purchase your Windows or Office software, does it come with the Certificate of Authenticity?
No. We do not send COA, because its OEM-version. But we send you necessary serial numbers.

It just seems strange that they do not offer vista or office 2007 either and this is the reason they give:

wish buy Windows VISTA and Office 2007. Why you do not have these softwares?
Windows Vista and Office 2007 have many defects. We do not wish to sell to our clients the unfinished softwares. We sell only full working versions. So we can sell it only 3-6 month letter.

Seems a strange way of doing business. Especially in the US, where the laws are so strict on selling software legally.


Also look at the price for Auto CAD 2007... AutoCAD 2007
Retail Price: $3999.95
Our Price: $149.95
You Save: $3850


You save $3, 850???? Now THAT kinda seems absurd! Like I said, I know you can get OEM cheaper than retail...but I doubt if you can legally get it THAT much cheaper.

DigitalJunkie
February 19th, 2007, 11:53 AM
I wouldn't trust them neither. They maybe gone overnight along with your CC#! Anyone could create a retail web site these days.

Auggie2k
February 19th, 2007, 11:53 AM
Its all FAKE, dont ever download or purchase from them ok.

thepuzzler
February 19th, 2007, 11:55 AM
See this is how it starts; first you pay for newsgroups then before you know it you're paying for OEM software!

It's the fishiest.

meyou123
February 19th, 2007, 01:19 PM
See this is how it starts; first you pay for newsgroups then before you know it you're paying for OEM software!

It's the fishiest.



What does paying for connecting to a server have to do with this? Nothing!

Sparky9
February 19th, 2007, 01:47 PM
well they're listed as a spam domain
http://www.google.com/search?q=.soft-rt.com/&sourceid=mozilla-search&start=0&start=0&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
you be the judge

meyou123
February 19th, 2007, 02:12 PM
well they're listed as a spam domain
http://www.google.com/search?q=.soft-rt.com/&sourceid=mozilla-search&start=0&start=0&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
you be the judge



I didn't know that! That is why I asked.

Sparky9
February 19th, 2007, 02:38 PM
I didn't know that! That is why I asked.

no you asked "I am wondering if that right there makes this site illegal in the US?"
not if they spam adverts via email

Reaper88
March 3rd, 2007, 02:44 AM
much indeed a fake..

meyou123
March 3rd, 2007, 07:02 AM
no you asked "I am wondering if that right there makes this site illegal in the US?"
not if they spam adverts via email

Sparky, my reply was that I DID NOT KNOW IT WAS SPAM? OK?
Geeze....

ikkenom
April 15th, 2009, 08:48 AM
It's over two years since the latest update to this thread,
and yet the same New York telephone-number is listed at the bottom of the web-site for (yet!) another "discount" software site:

Domain Name: BREONEVASTE.COM

Fraud! Credit-card "skimming" web-site.

Danger, Will Robinson, Danger!

Stay away from that site. :headache:

1cooldude
April 15th, 2009, 08:53 AM
everyone should use their common sense when dealing with any web site (even if it seems like a great deal. You know that saying..if it's too good to be true..). That's all.

Malakai1911
April 24th, 2009, 09:13 AM
I think I've walked past this parking garage before...

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=210+East+59st+Street&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF8&hl=en&ll=40.761232,-73.965824&spn=0,359.995172&z=18&layer=c&cbll=40.761273,-73.96592&panoid=W1Knqd41kR4fRYzPoOkylQ&cbp=12,215.24203830989504,,0,3.799999999999973

Mels_Smileys45
April 24th, 2009, 09:52 AM
I love the Google street views. I went down a lot of the canyons in California. Laural Canyon was pretty cool and I even went by the place where John Holms did the "four on the floor" murders. For a while I went all over the country site seeing. Its fun to do and almost like you are a real tourist!