View Full Version : Question
View Full Version : Question
CyRaX
August 24th, 2004, 04:13 AM
This may seem like a newbe question...
Does DC++ and Shareaza have adware/spyware?
crackerjacker
August 24th, 2004, 04:30 AM
nope they both are spyware and adware free. just make sure you download these programs from their original site.
CyRaX
August 24th, 2004, 04:47 AM
I got them at download.com, is that site safe?
Mels_Smileys45
August 24th, 2004, 06:00 AM
Download.com is your friend! Yes its a safe site. They frown upon programs that try to install spyware of any kind and if a program has any spyware options in it, they always post a warning. Its a site you should bookmark
Stownplayer
August 24th, 2004, 07:02 AM
I thought download.com was helping distribute the bad version of peerguardian? I could be wrong though.
CyRaX
August 24th, 2004, 07:10 AM
Thanks for the help!
Mels_Smileys45
August 24th, 2004, 07:11 AM
I have not heard that Stown. Download.com is a very trustworty site but I guess anything can happen when dealing with so many programs.
crackerjacker
August 24th, 2004, 07:24 AM
Well the way it happen was that someone took peer guardians software and bundled it with spyware, the same thing happen with shareaza.
openwares.org is responsible for peer guardians bundling of spyware.
The shareaza incident happened on cnet where some asshole bundled the shareaza software with spyware and presented it as their own work.
Like i said the best place to go for the program you want is their home page, unless you can go to a trusted site to get the file you want.
I am not saying cnet or any other site is unsafe but I just wanna add as of late u got to realize that anyone can upload a file to a site that allows people to download files and present the file as being their own work, which in fact can be someone elses work. After they do that they bundle the software with adware, spyware and malware.
So once again I would suggest getting the files first from the programs website to be sure its the real deal.
peace