PDA

View Full Version : Am I the only one who bought Limewire Pro?



PartyX2
June 24th, 2004, 07:01 PM
Just wondering...I'm wondering if it was a mistake.

Thanks.

Ticalrida
June 24th, 2004, 07:10 PM
lol it aint a scam site.

alliercollins
June 24th, 2004, 07:11 PM
I agree with Janet actually, it is a scam. They both run the same, there is no need to have a pro version. I mean I use the pro version, can't say I spent any money on it though ;)

alliercollins
June 24th, 2004, 07:19 PM
if you pay for a P2P app, when you can get the app for free.....its a scam!


kazza gold anyone?


i wish ppl would learn!:(

.

It isn't just that janet. It's the same exact program and the same exact speed. The additional features of better searching and better downloads are bs. I tested both fully one night and it was exactly the same. It might have made a difference if the network was bigger, like perhaps if it was a fasttrack client, but right now you pretty much connect to the same amount of sources with either and you get the same results. The other big thing for pro is you get the ugly skin that they brag about on the site.

To me it's a scam simply because it's the same thing as limewire free.

PartyX2
June 24th, 2004, 07:21 PM
lol

Alrighty...

I found 4.05 on the internet somewhere...I forget where now...But it doesn't supply updates, obviously...I mean it doesn't even supply a link when there is a new version. Which there is...

So...

What is the best place to download a SAFE copy of the installer for the latest version - and future versions when they come out?

Thanks.

alliercollins
June 24th, 2004, 07:22 PM
lol

Alrighty...

I found 4.05 on the internet somewhere...I forget where now...But it doesn't supply updates, obviously...I mean it doesn't even supply a link when there is a new version. Which there is...

So...

What is the best place to download a SAFE copy of the installer for the latest version - and future versions when they come out?

Thanks.

I thought you just said you bought it? Now you want warez links?

PartyX2
June 24th, 2004, 07:24 PM
Oh, sorry.

I bought the old one. I think it was starting on 3.04 or something when I did. Now, my updates ran out - which is BS...And sucks...So I want the new one...and I think I have a right to it.

serrebi101
June 24th, 2004, 07:25 PM
I thought you just said you bought it? Now you want warez links?

How things change ay?

alliercollins
June 24th, 2004, 07:27 PM
How things change ay?

I'd say so. I'm done answering him. He can take it up with limewire's people or someone else.

PartyX2
June 24th, 2004, 07:28 PM
I have an idea!

How about both of you read MY post.... :)

Ticalrida
June 24th, 2004, 07:31 PM
You just bought LimWire Pro there is no need to dl a Free one.

PartyX2
June 24th, 2004, 07:35 PM
I bought Limewire over six months ago, right before 4.00 came out. So...With just my luck, I couldn't download the new one. You only get six months of updates....And I really wanted the new one...

The Hunter
June 24th, 2004, 07:54 PM
You can try AquaLime available here:http://www.unitethecows.com/modules.php?s=&op=modload&name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownload&cid=19

PuNiShErKiLl666
June 24th, 2004, 08:05 PM
actually aqualime sucks compared to the new Limewire which contains no spyware now

The Hunter
June 24th, 2004, 08:26 PM
I guess I will have to check and see if development is continuing on AquaLime.

mcovey
June 24th, 2004, 08:45 PM
I bought it before limewire was ad-free. It isnt a scam, the money goes to the development of limewire. It's almost like a donation. I got better turbocharge-ment with it, but now my subscriptions expired and i use nova.

Ken17625
June 24th, 2004, 08:54 PM
It's not technically a "scam" if you bought it from

http://www.limewire.com/english/content/forms/buypro.html

Or another place that is authorized by the developers of Limewire.

I don't want people to get confused between pro versions created by the authors, and scam websites which are deceptive, unrealted, and obviously not the work of the developers.

With that said, everyone who has been on these boards long enough knows how I feel about pro version software. If you don't, examine this smiley...


:finger

ducttapeBigSexy
June 24th, 2004, 11:16 PM
It's not a scam, and if you truely believe in limewire, well, i guess it's okay then, but i just wouldn't pay for it on the fact that if they believe it's okay to make software that allows people to get full versions of software for free, why should i have to pay them? Basically, they're profiting off of stealing (which just isn't right).

LordNIkon
June 25th, 2004, 12:01 AM
I always get limewire from here Limewire.org (http://www.limewire.org/)

John W. Lindh
June 25th, 2004, 02:53 AM
I never paid for LimeWire Pro, but those people have to make a living somehow. If you couldn't make any money in p2p, there would be no MetaMachine creating Overnet & Edonkey, there would be noe LimeWire, no BearShare, no Fasttrack. There never would have been Morpheus. Napster would never have bought hundreds of servers.

A lot of innovation would not have happened in the p2p sector without bundled software, ads or people buying PRO versions.

mxpwx
July 21st, 2004, 06:24 AM
I have limepro but i did not buy it. i did relize that i runs better than the regular limewire ida kinow seems scammy ot me