View Full Version : K.L.R sites disappearing ?
Nineyeeve
February 17th, 2004, 03:12 PM
Today, i went to reccomend K.L.R to a friend. so i go to darth V's main site. It's down. Then i check another K.L.R sister site. Its also down. So i check a few others....To no suprise they are all down. Ever resourceful, I check the links sephiroth posted on that locked thread... DOWN !
WTF !!!
Any explanations ?
MusikBeatz23
February 17th, 2004, 04:57 PM
I found this site and It has really helped me out with the d-loads http://www.atlastelecom.ro/~mslv I don't know who the owner is but keep up the good work.
The Hunter
February 17th, 2004, 05:02 PM
Also just a hint do a search for it on your favorite file sharing program.
Lehk
February 17th, 2004, 05:29 PM
Also just a hint do a search for it on your favorite file sharing program.
because *Nobody* would *ever* put a virus/trojan/phonehome into a copy of a program on a filesharing network, don't get executable code off of P2P
The Hunter
February 17th, 2004, 05:36 PM
Sorry, but im sharing clean versions on a number of programs, and of course always scan for a virus, as not everyone may be honest.
ducttapeBigSexy
February 17th, 2004, 06:10 PM
Well, keep in mind that just because it's on a web site, doesn't necessarly mean it's free of viruses, etc. I'd say just use BT - you should get really fast dl speeds, and the files are all verified.
The Hunter
February 17th, 2004, 06:11 PM
Or when you have a clean working version just save a copy to help out your friends.
MusikBeatz23
February 17th, 2004, 06:20 PM
Or just PM some K-Lite fanboy and ask them 2 send it 2 you.
The Hunter
February 17th, 2004, 06:22 PM
That would work also. LOL
in_hiding
February 17th, 2004, 06:37 PM
Have you tried the webpages & downloads linked at:
http://www.geocities.com/ricky_cain2003//kazaalite.html
Ken17625
February 17th, 2004, 07:38 PM
Yes.
Sharman is slaughtering all of them.
They're as bad as the RIAA.
**ahem**
Send ole' Ken a PM, if you haven't already found what you're looking for. I may have some **ahem** advice to give you.
moirone
March 27th, 2004, 05:19 PM
If any one is looking for Darth Vikram's website it is still up and running. The website is http://myimages.fourvalve.com/darthvikram
MikeyK
April 13th, 2004, 05:16 PM
most of the sites i use for K Lite Are Up
Panacea
April 19th, 2004, 05:24 PM
Sharman networks are a commercial organisation. Kazaalite is a grave risk to their empire of shite as it generates no revenue for them. Thus if it won't make them money, it gets removed. RIAA like to sue people for downloading their crap, because they should pay for the priveledge.
Although I don't like in USA, I would not be sued for the music I share, I reckon less than 1% has RIAA connections.
toosh27
May 10th, 2004, 12:05 PM
most of the sites i use for K Lite Are Up
I tried the first one on your list and my firewall software went crazy. Lots of sites with spyware/spam sounding names kept asking me for permission to connect to my PC (obviously I clicked 'No'). I then ran ad-aware (please bear in mind that I ran ad-aware yesterday so my system should have been pretty clean before I tried to download kazaa lite from the site referred to by MickeyK). Ad-aware found 61 new spyware objects (a new record for my system!!) including 3 processes, 24 registry keys, 6 registry values, 25 files and 3 folders.
:devil My advice is use these download locations with caution!!
RACKnRAIL
May 10th, 2004, 12:32 PM
I did a google search for it and found it without any trouble. I can't say for sure that the installer (K++) was not tampered with though, but spyware scanners and anti-virus, as Hunter suggested, should be a precaution anyways.