PDA

View Full Version : Is "k-litetk.com" a scam site?...


amitabuda
January 10th, 2004, 08:34 PM
Has anyone purchased it?

Does it give you Kazaa Lite to download? :mellow



Thanks!

Malicious Intent
January 10th, 2004, 08:40 PM
Yes, it is a scam.
I'm sure that someone can provide you with a proper link. the damn sites keep moving at the moment.
Just remember the first rule of p2p - never pay for anything. Second rule - never give anyone your e-mail adress!

hawkburn
January 10th, 2004, 08:44 PM
Malicious intent - you had to give ZP your email to sign up... remember? hehe

Anyway... ya the first rule is always correct, #2 has a few exceptions, but common sense will tell you when those are.

Malicious Intent
January 10th, 2004, 08:44 PM
Information on k-lite: http://www.zeropaid.com/kazaalite/
Latest thread on the subject: http://www.zeropaid.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=17410
Here is a link for KLR: http://www.kdp.2ya.com/
Good luck.

Malicious Intent
January 10th, 2004, 08:50 PM
Malicious intent - you had to give ZP your email to sign up... remember? hehe

Anyway... ya the first rule is always correct, #2 has a few exceptions, but common sense will tell you when those are.
hmm, good point.
Rule number 2 = never give out your e-mail to download software.
Crap, AVG needs your email.
In that case it looks like your common sense rule, even if not exactly fool proof.
Rule number 3 = don't download anything that claims to make you more anonymous.
Rule number 4 = make sure your virus checker is up to date and runs regularly.
Rule number 5 = make sure you adware/spyware removal software is always up to date and runs regularly.

ducttapeBigSexy
January 10th, 2004, 10:38 PM
For the second rule, just create a free email address at Yahoo or something - that way, you can still get activation numbers, etc, but not have to worry about spam. If you get too much spam at that account, just go get another one.

phalkon30
January 10th, 2004, 11:19 PM
If you're worried about spam for signing up for something, try this free service. I've never used it but I've heard it recommended before

http://www.mailinator.com/mailinator/Welcome.do

Sockfulloflove
January 11th, 2004, 10:01 AM
Yes that website is a scam, from what I've heard, the client isn't even K-lite, but its Ares and you have to purchase it.

Malicious Intent
January 11th, 2004, 02:23 PM
That is k-lite.tk that is Ares.
I suppose this one could be as well.

RJ5500
January 11th, 2004, 03:51 PM
Basically, if any site asks you to pay for a Peer to Peer service, it is a scam.

It's a good general rule of thumb to follow.

shawners
January 11th, 2004, 05:35 PM
FIRST RULE is never pay for anything you download.. SECOND RULE, never admit you paid for anything you downloaded.. Otherwise we will call you a wussie =)

Malicious Intent
January 11th, 2004, 05:38 PM
FIRST RULE is never pay for anything you download.. SECOND RULE, never admit you paid for anything you downloaded.. Otherwise we will call you a wussie =)
lol -A vast improvement on my list!